Skip to content

"Experientia docet" - Experience is the best teacher

Dear Fellow SASAS members

It is with mixed feelings that I write this final communique to members as my tenure as President has ended. The last four years have been particularly interesting and quite full filling. I wish to extend my sincere gratitude to be afforded an opportunity to serve and advance the objectives of our esteemed society. The SASAS Executive Committee and the entire Council were supportive. At the same time, I wish to gladly pass the batton to the new Council led by the new President, Dr Trevor Dugmore, and his team. I have no doubt that they will serve with distinction.
A congratulatory message is extended to the SASAS Northern Branch, led by Ms Robyn Joubert, for presenting a memorable inaugural virtual congress. The congress was a resounding success and lived up to expectation in all respects. Well done for the job well done. All our stakeholders from industry, government, academia and research also played an important role in ensuring that the congress is a success.

On the professional front, SACNASP has introduced changes to CPD requirements for cycle ending March 31, 2022, due to challenges presented by the pandemic. The details of the changes are paraphrased as follows:
New amended requirements: (2017 to 2022)
• Total number credits for the cycle reduced from 25 to 20
• Credits required in category 1 reduced from 5 to 3
• The remaining credits can be obtained in category 2 and 3.
Further information on CPD can be obtained by logging into your account on the SACNASP website
( 9Qp?

Lastly, thank you very much for affording me a unique opportunity to serve our beloved society.

Kindest regards
Prof Norman Maiwashe
Council of the South African Society for Animal Science (SASAS)

SASAS Council Members (2021-2023) and Secretariat
President – Dr TJ Dugmore – Executive Committee (Finance & Governance)
Vice-President – Prof SWP Cloete
Honorary President – Prof AE Nesamvuni
Dr CJL du Toit – Publications Committee & Executive Com
Prof CB Banga – Public Relations and Communications Committee
Dr Helet Lambrechts – Education Committee
Ms Natasha Snyman – Professional Development Committee
Mr ST Gcumisa – Congress and Branch Committee
Dr F-H De Witt – Awards Committee
Prof HC Schönfeldt – Executive Secretary
Lethea Louw – Secretary
Co-opted members
KJ Leeuw – Livestock Welfare Coordinating Committee

Back To Top